The best places in Nottingham for fans of reading, writing and poetry

0

Chock full of places to go and things to do, Nottingham is built for the book, arranged for the lyric, and cut for the poetic. Here we have released a guide to get you started on the road to the literary community in all its scribbled splendor …

Nottingham Writers Studio

Since 2006, the Nottingham Writers Studio has incubated a fruitful crop of literary figures. It supports both existing and developing authors. With impressive alumni who have Man Booker shortlists and Dublin IMPAC awards under their belt, there are few better places to register.

Local bookstores

Tucked away behind Primark and in a small alley opposite an old bookmaker, you will find Five Leaves Bookstore, a real hidden gem that won the 2018 independent bookstore at the Nibbies. And, a few steps around the corner, there is the charming Ideas on paper nestled in Cobden Chambers, offering the best of independent magazines, journals, books and stationery.

East Midlands writing

Few people are getting involved in reaching out to young emerging writers like East Midlands writing. Involved in too many support projects to mention, they run seminars and writing classes, offer mentoring and critical help, and even provide one-on-one counseling – they’re just that support.

Network of Black Writers and Artists

Continuing the rich literary tradition of the African Caribbean community in the city is the Network of black writers and artists. Led by Nottingham Black Archive and directed by Panya Banjoko, the collective is a growing haven for creative writers of Afro-Caribbean descent who wish to write, share ideas, organize events and perform.

Nottingham City Libraries

Nottingham City Libraries have reading groups with specific objectives such as detective fiction to mental health, Bengali literature to Urdu poetry. There are also links to local writing groups, with figures like the DIY Poets and the Nottingham Poetry Society.

Nottingham Women’s Center Library

Women’s libraries are scarce across the country, and the Nottingham Women’s Center Library on Chaucer Street is the only one of its kind in the East Midlands. It still contains most of the original books and magazines that were donated in the 1970s and 1980s when the library was established.

DIY poets

If you are new to the world of poetry, DIY poets will provide you with a lot of support for both writing and performance. For over a decade, they have been passionate about helping poets feel confident in performing their work in public and letting the public know that poetry can be exciting and relevant.

City of Literature

City of Literature in itself worth getting involved. They now have a lot to offer students, including opportunities to submit their writing and have it published, and a literary calendar with all the local events coming up on their website. In May, each year, dozens of venues across the city typically host Nottingham Poetry Festival.

University Societies

If you are a student and want to do a bit of networking with other writers at your university, look no further than their student unions. writing companies. Each has clubs for those interested in both poetry and creative writing, as well as opportunities to contribute to student magazines like Platform and Impact.

Share.

About Author

Kehoe Young

Comments are closed.